Newbie (maybe) R23 - Need Advice - pictures

A little about yourself
DrFred

Newbie (maybe) R23 - Need Advice - pictures

Post by DrFred »

Hello all. We are very new to the idea of travel trailers. Have always admired both Avion and "the other" and casually looked around for any in our area but they are always fully restored and way too $$ OR they are across the country.

Well low and behold we have the opportunity to possibly purchase one that is around the corner from our home, BUT....

It is a complete wreck..... AND we don't know anything! We would be starting from zero. Can you even tell me what year this is from the pictures?

I am a contractor so pretty handy but I don't want to bite off more than I can chew. I know it is a huge project and I'm willing to put in a few years of work, but I don't want to put in more money than it will be worth in the end.

I have some pictures I can share and I can tell you when I walked into the trailer the floor is so spongey I had to step very carefully as I thought I'd fall through.

I guess I'm just looking for some advice. If I can get this for under $500....is it even worth it or should I not even try to save this poor thing?
Attachments
Trailer2.jpeg
Trailer3.jpeg
Trailer4.jpeg
Trailer5.jpeg
Trailer7.jpeg
8644CDDE-D345-41D8-8EEA-C3AE867C0D1C.jpeg
DrFred

Re: Newbie (maybe) R23 - Need Advice - pictures

Post by DrFred »

Okay, so I wouldn’t mind putting in a little more than it will be worth since we plan to keep it and use it through our retirement in about 5 years…but can anyone shed any light?

As I said, new to travel trailers and definitely new to the forum. I can see people are viewing the post, but no replies….is this a negative sign. Do ya’ll think we are nuts to even attempt this?
KYAvion
Site Admin

Post by KYAvion »