Broken Axle

Axles and Suspension Systems, Brakes, Brake Controllers, Wheels, Tires
Paul B Brodale

Broken Axle

Post by Paul B Brodale »

I am new at this "forum" stuff - so please bear with me - I have a 1984 31ft Avion travel travel trailer.
Yesterday, as I pulled out of the driveway, my driver's side, front wheel assembly literally broke off the end of the axle, on my Avion. It looks like it broke off right at the weld where the wheel assembly/knuckle is attached to the axle tube.
How should I go about fixing this?? I do have a replacement axle I purchased several years ago.
Paul B Brodale

Re: Broken Axle

Post by Paul B Brodale »

Here are some pictures of my broken wheel / axle non-assembly- - -
Attachments
DSCN1966.JPG
DSCN1967.JPG
DSCN1968.JPG
DSCN1969.JPG
silverloaf

Post by silverloaf »

Paul B Brodale wrote: Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:25 pm Here are some pictures of my broken wheel / axle non-assembly- - -
I would consider using the spare axle, assuming of course the spindle is in good condition.

My concern in re-welding the broken spindle onto the axle is the accuracy necessary to preserve the camber and toe alignment of the tire.
" Faith can move mountains, but don't be surprised if God hands you a shovel.”

Silverloaf (Bob)
Dawsonville, GA
1988 30P
KYAvion
Site Admin

Post by KYAvion »

Wow that thing just snapped right off. Any ideas about the cause of failure? Could this have been a repair job at some point that failed? Any signs of concern on the other spindles?
KYAvion
1984 Avion 30R
Paul B Brodale

Post by Paul B Brodale »

Thanks Silverloaf and KY Avion for your replies.