Kool Seal

Shell/Exterior Maintenance, Windows, Gaskets, Awnings, Vent Lids/Covers, Rockguards
KYAvion
Site Admin

Kool Seal

Post by KYAvion »

I was on top of my new Avion this evening and learned the entire roof is covered in a rubbery yet dense coating. I'm not sure since I've never used it before, but I'm wondering if it's Kool Seal. To remove the coating would be arduous since the entire roof is covered, so I plan to just touch it up where needed. Has anyone used Kool Seal or another product they'd recommend?
KYAvion
1984 Avion 30R
Razorback

Re: Kool Seal

Post by Razorback »

I have not used Kool Seal myself. Not sure what it was that I cleaned off of the roof seams of our Avion. Some kind of brushed-on goop.

I have some samples of of roof sealer that I received recently from reRubber in California. They sent me a container of grey primer and a container of white topcoat. The data sheets that I read are pretty clear that either one will seal well, but the white topcoat will obviously provide the best heat reduction.

I'm hoping to test this stuff sometime this weekend.
Razorback (Paul)
1987 Avion 34W
1995 Ford F-250 7.3L PowerStroke
I'm a "whosoever"... are you???
Avionstream

Post by Avionstream »

If it's not leaking I would leave it alone.
KYAvion
Site Admin

Post by KYAvion »

That's the problem--a few leaks. I went ahead and ordered some Eternabond and a gallon of Koolseal, so we'll see how it goes.
KYAvion
1984 Avion 30R
Nole75

Post by Nole75 »

I just Kool sealed my roof last month. Mine was in an effort to cool down the interior.
KYAvion
Site Admin

Post by KYAvion »

I just finished the second coat today. It actually went on better than I thought and seems to cover well. Time will tell.
KYAvion
1984 Avion 30R
karenmccraw

Post by karenmccraw »

Do you apply the Kool Seal over the EternaBond tape?